Do you to play in the snow? Do  you love to write about skiing? Shoot videos of snowboarding? Take photos while walking through the woods on snowshoes? If you live in the Midwest, the North American Snowsports Journalists Association (NASJA) Midwest may be for you.

Who are we?

We are a network of people who share a passion for participating in and telling stories about snow sports, whether that means alpine, cross-country or telemark skiing; snowboarding; snowshoeing; dog mushing, fat-tire bike riding in the snow, or something else that has yet to be created.  Work from our members has appeared in newspapers such as Chicago Tribune, Cleveland Plain Dealer, Detroit News, Grand Rapids Press, Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel, as well as smaller publications. We’ve won Emmy Awards for TV productions. We’ve written for traditional industry publications such as Ski magazine and Cross-Country Skier, and also for new online-only publications such as OnTheSnow.com and SnowCountry.com. Of course, we also run our own platforms as well, including MiSkiReport.com and GraysOnTrays.com.

Our Midwest association is one chapter within a larger association, NASJA.

What do we do?

In our quest to find and tell stories, we have commanded dug mushing teams, competed in Nordic ski races, visited the polar regions, and taken our skis and snowboards to some of the best resorts in the country.

We meet face-to-face and online; on the mountains and hills and in restaurants and meeting rooms. As members, we enjoy the following benefits:

  • Networking with other journalists;
  • Networking with professionals in the ski and resort industry;
  • Learning to develop our craft through seminars and discussions on professional development;
  • Helping each other adjust to the new landscape for media;
  • Visiting ski areas so that we can tell stories that bring the mountains and hills to others.

What’s the “Midwest?”

It includes the states of North and South Dakota, Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and Kentucky. It also includes the Canadian provinces of Saskatchewan, Manitoba, and western Ontario, plus the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

Want to learn more?

If you’re interested in joining us, see the the Membership/Join page.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s